Vermicelli Upma: Healthy & Easy

One of my favourite breakfast’s these days and all the days, since I started working out 2 years back .

Vermicelli Upma is not something I have a childhood memory of. Mom never made it. The only thing that mom made of vermicelli was what we called Seymia Payasam (Vermicelli Pudding). So I do take the credit of teaching mom to make this one because she keeps insisting that she wants to reduce her tummy 😀 (though I think my mom is perfect!)

I started woking out religiously in 2014 and that was when I started watching what I ate and taking Rujuta Diwekar‘s book Don’t Lose Your Mind, Lose Your Weight seriously. While on the hunt for healthy, carb filled and not so boring breakfasts I started making Daliya Upma. I used to take it to office as brunch too (because I was religiously following the small meals, every 2 hours routine.) That’s when one of my colleagues suggested that the same can me made with vermicelli too.

I tried it the next day. And there after the daliya has always got step motherly treatment 😀

Vermicelli Upma is easy to make and awesome carbs. Fill it with veggies and it is your ideal breakfast of carbs and fibres. Here I take you on a photo journey of how to make this real quick and nutritious breakfast:

Dry roast the vermicelli. You also get roasted ones in the supermarkets, but I prefer roasting them at home. I prefer roasting the whole packet and stocking it. You can just roast the preferred quantity for the breakfast one at a time too. Ideally 1.5 palm full of vermicelli is very good quantity for a normal person. I dry roast on low flame as I like a nice mud brown evenly roasted vermicelli

Chop the vegetables you want to fill your upma with. Onion, Green Chilli is kind of a must. Apart from these two any veggie you want to eat and are looking for an excuse to put into your gut can go in there. I prefer chopping all the veggies in thin, long slices (they look pretty with the thin, long vermicelli)

Put a flat bottom pan on the stove on high flame. Add little oil. (This is another reason why I love this upma, it is a low-oil recipe especially when you use a non-stick pan). Add a pinch of mustard when the oil is hot. Lower the flame after the mustard sputters. Add the vegetables.

Close and cook for 2 minutes. Add salt, stir and close for another minute. Then add the roasted vermicelli and mix well. Add water. Vermicelli cooks very quick as it is made of Rava and the vegetables are already cooked; add water so that it just levels the entire mixture.

Check after 5 minutes. The vermicelli should be cooked by this time. If you like your upma a bit soupy you can turn it off now. I like it dry, so I give it a stir and wait till all of the water is gone.

SelfieCity_20160426203627_org
Tada! Our lovely lady is ready.

I like my upma white so I did not add turmeric power. You can, after you toss the veggies into the oil. Or if you prefer some more veggies and some more colour your can try beetroot too 😉

It makes for a nice blushing vermicelli upma

SelfieCity_20160426203720_org
Though my favourite combo with Vermicelli Upma is mango or mixed pickle, I tried Haldiram’s Bhujia Sev and Bhakarwadi. The mild spicy bhujia with the slightly sweet bhakarwadi and the hot upma was a good combi.

Do try this healthy and easy breakfast. I am told it is also an excellent way of getting kids to eat some veggies.

By the way don’t just restrict it to breakfast, I many times even have it as a evening munch or even dinner.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Yummy! 😀 One of my favorite dishes, though I do not put beetroot. Don’t like THAT much color 😛 And I have it with chutney. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reshmy Pillai says:

      Which chutney. I would like to try that combi.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Vinay Leo R. says:

        Coconut chutney. Not too watery, though. You can actually put less mustard seeds in the upma and put some in the chutney (varathittathu). 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

